Donald T. Foster is one of Southern California’s most active clarinetists, serving as Principal Clarinetist of both the Pasadena and Santa Barbara Symphonies. He is a frequent auxiliary/substitute musician with the San Diego Symphony and the Los Angeles Opera Orchestra and is the Founding Artistic Director of Mládí, LA’ s first conductorless chamber orchestra. In addition, Don is very active in the motion picture and television studios, and can be heard on many soundtracks for feature films.

Foster graduated from the University of Southern California, receiving his Master of Music degree in 1996 while in the studios of Yehuda Gilad and Michele Zukovsky. He has received Fellowships from both the Tanglewood and Aspen Music Festivals, the latter of which he attended for four consecutive summers. He is a former first prize winner of the Pasadena Instrumental Competition, and has won concerto competitions with such organizations as the Los Angeles Mozart Festival, YMF Debut Orchestra, Marrowstone Music Festival, and Aspen Music Festival.

Prior engagements include serving as Principal Clarinet with the Philharmonie der Nationen based in Hamburg, Germany. While with the Philharmonie he performed in over 250 concerts in virtually every major city in Europe. He has also served as Principal Clarinet of the Colorado Music Festival, in Boulder, Colorado and has been featured in Central America with his reed trio Trianche as a featured ensemble for the Costa Rica Music Festival. He is currently on the faculty of the Moreno Valley campus at Riverside Community College and divides his time with residences in Palm Springs and the Silver Lake area of Los Angeles.

Donald's recent film credits include "Spanglish", "The Legend of Zorro", "Shooter", "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles", "The Number 23", "The Skeleton Key", "Blades of Glory", "Disturbia", "Leatherheads", "Marley & Me", "The Pacific", "Trick 'R Treat", "Year One", "Tropic Thunder", "War Horse", "Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief", "The Last Airbender", "Rango", and "The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn". 


Newest Members